In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Many people believe that the students should be trained not only in the academics, but also in handling the problems of the everyday life. In number of countries, the younger generation are encouraged to travel for some time before they join the university for the higher studies. There are both pros and cons to this strategy.

There are two main advantages, the first one is the self discovery and the other one is exposure to the outside world. When students get a chance to travel, they will have an opportunity to rediscover themselves. Youngsters will be able to identify their strengths & weakness, based on which they might even consider the change in the career path. Most of the younger crowd spend their life under the protection of parents, it abstracts them from the real-world problems. If the students travel, they can get immense learning experience, which make them ready for the future challenges. For example, I never travelled outside the country until I completed the graduation, when I went abroad for the higher studies, I struggled to handle the real world problems on my own. So, I believe, travelling definitely helps.

The are couple of downsides for this, the youth might get addicted to the bad habits and they might even lose interest in pursuing the higher education. There are many instances where the children start doing drugs in the free time and they finally end up in rehabilitation centers instead of universities. For example, one of my friends took a break from studies to spend time on travelling. Initially he was doing good, met new people and went to exciting places, but at the later stages, he lost the purpose and spent most of his time drinking alcohol and smoking.

To conclude, I believe, travelling alone after graduating from the school is like double edged sword. It has to be handled in a right way.