Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth.

Do you agree or disagree?

Since ancient times, education has been playing an important role in the development of the society. But unfortunately, these days it has become expensive and unaffordable to millions of people across the world. I completely agree with the given statement, knowledge should be free and accessible to each and every person on the planet.

First of all, modern way of life is knowledge driven, without which, it would be very difficult to survive in the advanced society. Free education gives every individual a fair and valuable opportunity to excel in the life because lack of affordable schooling will have a detrimental effect on the human development, it might lead to poverty, loss of jobs and corruption. For example, many industrialized countries have one thing in common, that is high literacy rate. In most of these states, schooling is the basic right and it is free for all. So, I believe, free education will show a huge positive impact in the people’s standard of living.

Secondly, since the education has tremendous importance in the human lives, it is directly related to the country’s development. Providing free and quality training to the younger generation will lead to the innovation and employment and that in turn increases the wealth in the country. For instance, 50 years ago, India was one of the poorest countries on earth with the mere 30% of the total population were literate. In the later half of the 20th century, education was made a basic human right in the country. Fast forward to the 21st century, India is poised to become 3rd largest economy in the next decade.

To conclude, education should not be just for the privileged, it should be free for all, irrespective to the cast, creed and the religion.