Today many people spend less and less time at home. What's the reason for this? How can this trend influence individuals and society?

In recent times, with the advent of globalization, people are usually spending minimal time at their homes. This essay will explore the reasons for the above trend and also its possible effects on the families and their respective communities.

Firstly, one of the main causes to spend less time in the houses is due to changing lifestyles and work cultures. The central reason for this is twofold, firstly, the hectic work schedules in the majority of the companies leave very less amount to spend with their loved ones. Secondly, the children are spending more at institutes because of the heavy competition to succeed in their careers. To illustrate, most of the workplaces in the silicon valley of the US have made it mandatory that an employee has to spend 9 hours a day at the office, which makes it difficult for the working class to spend with their families. Furthermore, due to rapid changes in transportation, People also need to travel far distances for their work. Thus, it makes the citizens adjust to the changing trends.

In my view, this trend has a severe negative effect on both individuals and societies. As far as families are concerned, it leads to creating gaps between the members as there is limited scope for crucial face to face interactions as spending less time to discuss and share their feelings and opinions plays a vital role in the relationship. For example, In a recent study by the University of Illinois, many children feel lonely and it has detrimental effects on their mental health due to decrease in interactions with their parents. In societies, many citizens could not participate in community programs and other events due to this trend. It leads to lack of social skills and bonding in the neighborhood.

In conclusion, a busy lifestyle and an increase in working hours are the two main problems that led to spending less at homes and I feel it has a negative influence on humans and societies.