Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples.

There is no doubt that the rise in criminal activities is unquestionably one of the most prevailing and worrying aspects in both the developed and developing world's. This essay will explore the causes for the increase in crime and propose some measures which might mitigate them.

One major concern for the surge of criminality in modern societies is directly proportional to the rise in poverty. The main reason for this is twofold, firstly, the lack of necessities such as food, shelter, and clothing forcing the individual to indulge in the theft. Secondly, insufficient earnings may also drive the person to commit atrocities against the elite class or the government. To illustrate, a recent study of crime statistics showed that countries with lower Human development index have 40 % more crime rate than the developed nations. To combat this problem, authorities should find out the ways to increase the standard of living by addressing the basic needs which result in the reduction of monetary crimes that constitute a majority chunk.

Another significant cause of the upsurge in crimes is the role of the internet and cinema. This is because the advent of sophisticated latest technology has led to the rise in tech-based crimes as learning few software tools and attaining technical expertise can hack and steal the confidential data instantly within a fraction of seconds. Furthermore, the movies are also focusing more on stories related to robbery and violence which has a detrimental impact on teenagers and children. For instance, A survey on internet crimes by a group of Cambridge professors confessed that the US and UK have faced more data-stealing crimes in the last few years due to inconsistent gaps in combating the security breach. This issue can be tackled by hiring ethical hackers in every sector and improving the security measures by installing and administering the anti-hacking software effectively and efficiently which might control these violations.

In conclusion, two of the main causes which resulted in up-rise of criminal offenses are poverty and the internet. However, these issues can be minimized if the government focuses on providing proper basic facilities and also tackling the web-based crimes by proper security measures.