Today more and more tourist are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.  What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Tourism is a booming all around the world. A large number of people wish to visit uncommon destinations such as the extremely humid areas or incredibly cold regions. In this essay, I would like to discuss the merits and the demerits of a traveler's choice of less-explored places.

On one hand, traveling globally has become relatively easier. A large number of people are able to visit their dream vacation and experience a varied culture and its natural beauty. Many countries are commonly popular amongst a travelers world, however, there are a few destinations with extreme weather and geographical conditions that make the journey tougher but worth the effort.

Moreover, travelers want to make a trip to the most exquisite places, looking forward to an unusual experience. A tour into the wild or a desert safari not only gives tourists a chance to learn about nature but also enriches their perspective towards life. A tour to the northern tip of the world is a rare opportunity to witness the rare phenomena of the northern lights, and enjoy the snow-clad scenery which is not available in one's hometown.

On the other hand, people are generally aware of the severe physical conditions and need to prepare for the same. A trek to the highest peak needs a specific level of fitness and training to carry out the hike successfully. Certain places offer adventurous activities, and the lack of correct gear could be life-threatening. Many tourists are unaware of or underestimate the tasks involved in these expeditions, and end up giving up or have an unsatisfactory experience.

In conclusion, offbeat destinations may be more exciting, but they are definitely more rewarding. Hence, a majority of the global population pick challenging tourist spots with enriching experiences.