Task-2

News stories on TV are in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. At least 250 words.

Pictorial evidence and audiovisuals are usually a part of news found in the daily papers and on television news channels. A majority of the population believes that images are more impactful than just words. I strongly opine that visuals speak louder than words. In this essay, I shall discuss the merits of photographs and illustrations in the world of news.

Firstly, Visuals play an important role in eliminating ambiguity and creating an efficient reach to its masses. News reporters often play short video clips or a series of images for a better perception of their viewers. For instance, broadcasting the Indian Air Force's tribute on Independence Day is a visual treat. The marvels of the aircraft formations in the sky along with the fireworks, certainly cannot be understood without any photos or visual representation.

Secondly, some local newspapers, resort to creating caricatures of famous politicians and personalities to make the news attractive. Comic strips and illustrations are observed to be appealing to the youth and hence the publishers use it to make millennial centric campaigns more effective. A typical example of this is active participation of the youngsters in voting and the right to freedom of speech.

Lastly, illiterate persons can understand the pictorial representation of the news rather easily. A majority of the people are able to gauge the intensity of the situation through its visuals. Even historical events are recorded and referred to as important lessons for the human race. For example, pictorial evidence of a war zone or natural calamity-stricken area can help an individual estimate the graveness of the issue.

In my view, an image is more stimulating to the brain as a person uses their imagination actively. News in the form of a sea of words or audio seems redundant and monotonous to people. This makes them lose their interest. To create an impactful awareness, news must carry imagery pertinent to its topic.