Some people say that parents should encouraged their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some parents opine that children must participate in collective recreational activities in their leisure time. Others oppose this view, and parents believe that children must learn to be self-reliant. I strongly adhere to the school of thought that children need to be guided on using their time effectively. In this essay, both the viewpoints will be discussed.

On one hand, parents tend to go over-board with enrolling their children into numerous outdoor activities. Generally speaking, hobby activities such as dance classes, swimming lessons, robotics classes, and sports which help them to learn important skills like coordination and cooperation. This prepares them for the future because they already know how to work with a group of people and have good team spirit. Both qualities are essential for success in the workplace.

On the other hand, parents who are working, may not be able to afford the time or money to let their children participate in group events. There are times when a child is left alone. For example, his friends could be busy with their studies and cannot play with him. Since such situations can arise every now and then, every child should be able to keep themselves occupied doing their own things. For instance, they could read, write or paint. These activities not only keep them engaged but also help them discover their hidden talents.

In my view, a child needs guidance towards inculcating constructive habits and simultaneously focus on becoming independent. Elders should let children indulge in group activities which keep them busy and give them an opportunity to learn from other kids.

To conclude, it is important for children to find a way to keep themselves occupied on their own. However, parents should also encourage them to engage in group activities because such activities help to improve their health and overall personality.