Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people are of the opinion that parents ought to enroll their kids to extra curricular activities, when they have an extra hour in their routine. However, others believe that it is essential for kids to learn to utilize their free time on their own. This essay will discuss both these debatable views.

On one hand, to enhance any talent in kids' life, they require professional classes. For example, a kid who is interested in, and is good at, singing will be better singer in future as compared to the child who is not taking classes. Transforming kid's free time into a talent could be very useful for any parent because in his free time he might become sedentary due to lack of activities and might get into habit of playing video games or get into other bad habits like drinking or drugs.

On the other hand, putting kids in group activities can be a burden to parents' pocket. Not all people are blessed with a rich background, and, hence they might not be able to afford the expensive classes. For instance, a regular swimming class lesson in Singapore is worth $50, which is unaffordable for many. Some people also argue that these activities might not help a child in future and hence he should learn to spend time on his own.

In my opinion, although these types of extra classes or group activities are expensive but they eventually help a child's talent to nurture and help children to kill their free time. You never know, they might make their hobby into their living out of this extra classes sessions.