Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic?

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

There is an increase in the number of tourists who are visiting places with challenging conditions, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. Some believe this benefits them with endurance and sense of motivational achievement, whereas others face heath issues and trip is expensive.

One must strive further to achieve their goal and this comes from enduring your strengths. Being able to survive in the hard conditions for tourists is now becoming popular, keeping this in mind they are growing strong physically and mentally to face those difficulties. For example, a recent article in Times of India wrote about a couple from South India who trained themselves to get fit for climbing the Mount Everest. Although, one would survive the drastic climate and conditions of these places, it brings immense pleasure and feeling of achievement, motivating them to take on other challenges in their life. For instance, a study from Harvard suggest that 75% of people who had achieved difficult goals in their life are morally boosted to take on further more challenges. However, these contribute to benefit for the tourist to endure their strength and bring sense of achievement to themselves.

Although there are benefits, there are two main disadvantages to these difficult excursions. Keeping up with your health while travelling is always necessary, especially if you are not familiar with the changing weather, because it may result in severe health issues. People who are not ready for it will face dramatic changes in the climate and can fell ill or suffer injury. There is also heavy cost incurred to these exquisite places than a normal tourist destination. Also the arrangements required would be taken care from person's expense. Like the cost for the gear needed for mountain climbing will be incurred by the person travelling.

Overall, the benefits of endurance and achievement outweighs the disadvantages of health issues and expensive travel.