Today more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

More people are travelling than ever before. The reasons for this increase are many and varied. On a simplistic level, there are larger numbers of means of transportation-there are more cars, buses and trains in operation.

However, the sheer number of transportation means is not enough to explain this increase the cost of travelling; even though it is at present increasing due to an economic slowdown globally, is still relatively affordable to many people. This affordability is further enhanced by the use of credit cards and loans in order to fund travel, especially for holiday purposes. An increase of travel companies in competition with each other has also helped bring package prices down, while an increase in the number of operating flights globally has also increased, giving rise to falling air fare prices. In addition, people now have more leisure time and disposable incomes.

The combination of these two variables with unrelenting advertising campaigns from travel companies and cruise ship operators arguably leads to an increase in the number of people travelling, in this case for holiday purposes. Another reason why people travel is going to work. More than ever before, people are travelling greater distances to get to work. Large industrial sites for both service and production industries are tending to be located outside city areas. This invariably leads to increases in the number of people travelling locally.

In conclusion, there are many reasons why more people are travelling both internationally and locally, for business and for leisure. What is sure is that this increase is likely to continue until travelling at current rates is no longer economically viable.