In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Today's world is faster than ever. People need to move across cities due to professional or other reasons. Considering as the safest and fastest transport option many prefer hi-speed train over others modes of transportation when they travel from one city to another. Hence, these people believe that government should spend hefty amount of money on the development of new rail ways. While, others think existing public transportation systems like highways should be developed first due to its versatility and easy accessibility.

'Safety' among all other issues is the major concern for the commuters who have to travel across cities every day. It is quite difficult to ensure overall safety on the road while driving a car by oneself. Because there are so many nonprofessional unskilled drivers on the roads who are prone to accidents. Moreover, it is fairly hard to keep one’s concentration for a long period of time during a long drive from one city to another. High-speed trains allow the commuters to relieve these tensions by leaving the driving responsibility to skilled professional hands.

'Efficiency' is another big issue. Nowadays, the big cities are becoming quite unaffordable for many, so they have to live in outskirts small cities away from their working stations. These people have to travel hundreds of kilometres each day to reach their offices. They just don't like to spend ages on the roads. So, they prefer the most speedy method of transportation which allows them to travel a longer distance within a shorter time. Hence, high-speed rails are becoming popular day by day.

Others, however, believe that high-speed rails are much more expensive than the existing modes of transportation. Moreover, it is not as accessible as the traditional vehicles like buses or motorbikes are. So, existing systems should get priority over such an elite system like high-speed rail, and people would be more benefited by the development of the existing systems.

In conclusion, public transport is a sensitive issue which affects us all. So, government should handle this issue meticulously by focusing on that sector which would be most beneficial for us. In my opinion, significant amount of money should be spent on them development of high-speed rail as it is the safest and efficient mode of transportation.