Today's teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

In modern society today, there are many opinions being given that teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. This essay will discuss the arguments surrounding the problem of teenage stress.

Firstly, there are lots of things to do for teenagers. They have to go to school, join extra classes, cope up with many exams from different courses and do housework. Some young people can handle all of that things quite easily, but the others find them very difficult to complete perfectly. They become stress about the things they must do and they cannot find the way to solve them. Comparing two generations, learning in the past is not harder than today. In order to achieve good grades at school, students have to join many extra classes, and it takes a lot of their times. Besides, they do housework to help their parents because of many parents have to work all day, when they come home from work, they feel very tired to do something. In addition, parental pressure, examinations and housework are all reported as causing increased levels of strain.

Secondly, teenagers are exposed to more modern products than earlier generations as a result of living in a latter-day consumer society. They see celebrities earn a lot of money through films and the media. And when young people surf some online shops such as Shopee, Lazada, Tiki, etc, they want to have large things on them. Consequently, they often feel pressure to acquire these items because of the little money they have. Some might argue that these pressures are not new but in my opinion that such stresses were not so trong during earlier times.

To sum up, consumerism and academic pressures are powerful causes of stress on today's teenagers. However, it seems to me that the older generations are more stressful than nowadays because of wars and bad societies they had to suffer.