Today tourism is one of the world’s biggest industries and many poorer countries are depending more and more on tourism for their economy.

What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a large number of tourists visiting a country?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

many third-world countries around the world have become increasingly dependent on the tourism sector for their economic growth these days. this essay will suggest that the expansion of the tourism sector significantly boosts poor nations’ economy and the major drawback of tourism is that the sleeping cycle of many local residents will be disturbed.

tourism brings a substantial amount of money to less developed countries and helps their economy grow enormously. visitors from developed countries have a tendency to spend a lot of money on souvenirs, valuable items, and sightseeing tickets during their vacations, and thus, local businesses will be able to sell more and turn huge profits. As a result, governments of poor nations can collect more taxes from these local businesses and boost their economy. For example, the government of Cambodia reported that, in 2010, the GDP of this country increased by 8% thanks to the national income from tourism alone.

however, local residents at tourism sites will have to face a huge problem of their sleeping cycle being disturbed by foreign travelers. this is to say, people from other countries are used to going out and drinking at late night and they will not stop until early morning. Therefore, apart from the local sellers who have to stay up to serve their customers, other local citizens will not be able to have a good sleep at night due to the noise made by foreigners. For instance, a survey by the Thanh Nien Newspaper showed that most residents in district 1 of Ho Chi Minh City could not sleep before 2 am because many foreign visitors drank and had very loud conversations before that time.

In conclusion, tourism is indeed a profitable sector which vastly boosts the economy of many poor countries, however, it can also bring disturbance to the local people’s sleep.