In today's job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many different industries have been looking more for practical know-how in candidates than for their academic abilities while selecting members of their staff. while, it is more worthwhile to possess pertinent skills and experience of an industry to be successful, the theoretical understanding of the field in which one will work cannot be entirely ignored.

First of all, an employee is only as good as his ability to function with efficiency in the workplace than his fancy knowledge on theories. if all the members of the staff are experts in executing things in their own domain, there is more likelihood of an improved team performance and enhanced productivity of an enterprise. Moreover, a sound academic qualification but poor application techniques doesn't fare well for an individual and his company as the academic knowledge, which is mostly theoretical, will often seem to impede his initiatives to make things work and moving. many PhDs and post-doctorates have a very poor track record of excellence in industries.

However, the importance of having a good comprehension of the concepts and theories cannot be dismissed altogether. A strong conceptual base in a subject coupled with a sound technical and practical adaptability will often get the most out of an employee working for an organization. it is no surprising to see why good brands of hospitals and other sensitive sectors still look for higher qualification when hiring personnel. For example, a technician is often supervised by an Anesthesiologist and not allowed to administer tranquilizers on a patient on his own in spite of the great manual dexterity due to expert knowledge of the later should there be complications. if despite inadequate assimilation of quintessential concepts and thorough research, a company somehow brings out a product, no matter how great the working knowledge, renders it vulnerable.

In conclusion, better trade and professional skills make an individual more potent in the workforce. however, companies cannot overlook potential employees with better qualifications. it is the right mix of the two which might eventually be more attractive.