Tourism has contributed to make English as a global language. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to have only one English as the only spoken language?

Owing to the growth of tourism, English has emerged as the most widely spoken language. It can be predicted that one day this language would predominate all other languages and may eventually lead to their disappearance. Having one language worldwide would certainly aid understanding and economic growth, but there will also some threats to local culture and customs.

To begin with, there are many business as well as economic advantages of single international speaking dialect. In other words, travelling and trading across the boundaries will be eased and promoted by using global language. For instance, with all people speaking the same language, there will be less communication barriers and therefore trade would flourish between countries which would result in healthier world economy. Apart from this, more international business such as multinational companies will benefit the less developed nations to strengthen their currency.

On the contrary, there are also some disadvantages of having single global language. Firstly, owing to vanishing local languages, there must be negative impact on local traditions and history. For instance, in India, most of the traditional songs are in Hindi and with appearance of English as a single global language, these songs and related traditions would be diminished with passage of time. Secondly, it would result into collapse of tourism because there will be no reason of traveling if all countries have same language and culture. This may lead to devastating economy of counties which rely solely on tourism.

To conclude, English as a single speaking language in all countries can promote international trade and learning, but there are some possible threats towards preserving the traditional customs and languages. Therefore, maintaining local culture should be prioritized in order to ensure a rich world heritage for future generation.