Tourism has contributed to make English as a global language Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language spoken globally What are the advantages and disadvantages to have only one English as the only spoken language

In this twenty-first century, world has become a global village, which has contributed to rise in tourism. This phenomenon has resulted in making English as a dominant language, spoken internationally. However, some sections of the population believe that it will be the only language all over the world. Here, merits and drawbacks of this assertion will be scrutinised in forthcoming paragraphs.

To commence with, being monolingual will have numerous benefits. Firstly, traveling will become more simpler, people will be able to understand citizens of host countries. This consequently will broaden their horizons and ease the tension between nations. There will be no discrimination on the basis on language spoken and world will be peaceful place to live in. To illustrate, in India despite of having number of languages, still people are connected to each other though national language Hindi. Thus, this trend of one language besides promoting single community will also bring flood of opportunities for students and workers beond the geographical borders.

Nevertheless, English as an only language will bring some disadvantages as well. All the languages of minorities will be lost along with their rich culture and traditions. Countries will lose their diversity, and will become monotonous place to visit. Moreover, most of local literature will be left unread, as people will forget their mother tougue, which eventually will have impact on fututre generation. They will never able to know about ancient stories and legends. Thus, children will fail to understand true meaning of culture.

In conclusion, there are many advantages of single language like elevation in places to explore and chances gaining new experience will be more. People will live with harmony, but it will also led to loss of cultural richness of world.