Tourism is a modern form of colonialism. It distorts local economies, causes environmental damage and ruins the places it exploits. To what extent would you support or reject this idea?

Nowadays, Tourism is a large, fast-growing, and significantly expanding sector in all the corner of the world. Although some people claim that tourism has some drawbacks because it destroys our mother nature and causes damage to the local places. However, I strongly disagree with this concept as tourism has paramount importance in many forms which will be discussed with relevant examples.

Admittedly, there are many reasons why tourism has a huge contribution to the local economy. First and foremost, from the employment perspective, it has become a source of income for many people to have a better life. Another significant argument in favor is that this has helped in reducing poverty lines and the rate of crimes in most of the nations. A recent survey conducted by local authorities reveals that 40% of the local people are able to educate their children because of the income earned from tourism business. Therefore, the life of the local people can be improved if the government supports tourism to a larger extent.

Another reason is that tourism plays a vital role in nurturing the economy of the country. This means that if a nation attracts a large number of tourists then this will ultimately benefit the state authorities. Furthermore, with this large turnover budget, public services such as health departments, local roads, and infrastructure can be improved. Thus, money from these revenues can be put to a better cause in order to save the environment and make healthy societies.

In conclusion, tourism development does not harm the environment parts or bring destruction to the economy rather it supports the nation to develop further by promoting employment and becoming a contributor to the state budget.