True friends should always support each other’s decisions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Something that every one of us will agree about is that all of us need at least one friend. While some people believe that it is not necessary that friend should always be supportive to our decision, I agree with the statement.

There are some people who think they don’t need support from anybody. However, I think it is sign of overconfidence, and such attitude may lead us to dangerous consequences. For instance, during our school life, one of our classmates used to find faults in others decision. We stopped sharing our decision and talking with him. Although he was successful to score high in our board exam, without discussing with us, he chose a wrong subject for his bachelors. As a result, he failed to finish his bachelor degree.

Acceptance and appreciation from a friend not only motivates us but also strengthen the bonding of friendship. First of all, when we do not get acceptance, we feel lonely. Consequently, loneliness not only not makes us only sad, but may affect our mental well being. Additionally, we need appreciation to develop a sense of achievement, which inspires us to face future challenges. For example, whatever success I have achieved today is because of the encouragement that I have received from my best friend; same is true for him also. Despite the fact that sometimes we criticise others decision, we never disrespect other decision. Moreover, his supportive attitude gives me a huge space to express my thoughts and decision to him.

In conclusion, instead of being overconfident and finding faults in others decision, I believe it is always the best idea to discuss with someone and find a friend who can support, appreciate our decision and give some space to express ourselves.