Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information aboutthe defendant’s criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed an

I am not very familiar with laws. But I know that a jury can access information about the defendant's past criminal record in criminal case under my country law unlike British and Australian laws. In my opinion, law should allow lawyers to access past medical record.

Once a person committed a crime, the person will not hesitate to repeat it again. I have watched a number of crime movies and learnt that the person who committed one crime tends to repeat the crime with no hesitation. They even improved their criminal skills. The person becomes more expert and repeat the serial crime. Therefore, accessing the past criminal record will aid in judging the defendant in the court. By accessing the past criminal record, it can also be of help in identifying the criminal's pattern in committing crime.

I have seen a classmate who stole things from the classmates. At first, she stole things just for fun. It became a habit for her and expert in stealing things in same pattern. One day, She stole money from the classmate with no hesitation when she she was in financial crisis. From this, I realised once a person committed one crime, there will be repeated crime with same pattern and in more expert way.

While a person can commit crime repeatedly, there are also criminals who have changed after serving their punishment. Those who have learnt their mistakes, changed their lives to become better persons. Therefore, the jury should not prejudge the defendant just by looking at the past criminal record. And also, there are some cases the person committed crimes due to unavoidable situations to protect from self harm. So for the fact that, it is agreeable to protect the past criminal record to prevent from the jury prejudgement, to prevent the defendant's dignity and privacy. However, the jury will never know how the person committed crime in the past without accessing the past criminal record and there will be difficulty in judging the defendant as well. Therefore, British and Australian laws should change the practice by allowing the access of information about the defendant's past medical record. With that, the jury will be able to make right decision in a shorter duration. The jury should also act with no prejudgement after accessing the past criminal record to make correct judgement.