Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, there is huge variety of subjects available that one can choose for his career and future development. However, it is a proposed plan that universities should allocate equal number of seats for both the genders for every subjects. I completely agree with this thought and this essay will present supportive statements for my agreement.

To begin with, same number of boys and girls candidates in each subject highly reflects that the course is not gender specific. Gone are the days when subjects were chosen based on gender of the student. For example, In earlier days, tailoring, cooking courses were mainly considered more by girl's students and chemical and mechanical engineering were preferred as boy's best-loved courses. Equal number of boys and girls will bring confidence to students to study subjects of their interest, which they could not learn if the majority of students is opposite sex.

Along with that, this trend of equal number of male and female students for every course will provide better opportunities to students. Children could choose from wide variety of subjects and choose their course on the basis of interest. Nowadays, we could find girls in space projects, driving and boys could be seen giving cookery classes and there are various well known fashion designers who are male, this could be possible only if they have equal opportunities irrespective of their gender.

To conclude, this is a very nice thought that universities should accept equal number of boys and girls for every course. I completely agree with this plan as this will remove the gender barrier from the course choice and will offer equal opportunities to both boys and girls. Further, there will give students a broader scope of areas or fields to choose as a career choice and hence the rate of success will also accelerate.