University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Selecting subjects in tertiary education has always been the paramount consideration for students and it is the time when pupils choose the specialization over generalization. Nevertheless some people argue that wide range of subjects could be more beneficial and higher institutes should also motivate the students to learn variety of courses. I believe that having command on one area is must but reasonable knowledge in other areas adds value in different endeavors.

Specialization in one area offers many benefits. First of all, various fields such as medical science, engineering, space technologies etc. require person to have in-depth knowledge of subject in order to contribute in the respective area. It is often seen that people with detailed information and clear logic become successful in science and technology related fields. For instance, Bill gates an entrepreneur designed the window based operating system and became echelons in IT field. Secondly, for any innovation, specialist knowledge is the critical factor as person is required to understand all aspects of that area and further improve or modernize the existing arrangements of products or services. Finally, emphasis over one subject helps students not only to gather extra information on subjects but also helps them to gain confidence to face post study interview or assessment.

Nevertheless, some people think that student may get benefitted if they are advised to study other subject besides their core course. The main reason for such kind of rationale is that some time students do not know what they aim for and become specialist in one area block other opportunities lying in different areas. A case in a point is my cousin who studied the pharmacy in university and later on realized that pharmacy is not his cup of tea and end up being made redundant from company. Another argument is that people sometime in life get in administration or business even in technology field and during that role, specialist knowledge is less valued and person expects to understand the other areas such as business, marketing, accounting and human behavior etc.

To recapitulate, though specialist knowledge is a key in modernization and improves existing science and technology etc. conception, study of other subjects open ample of employment avenues in later stages of life and helps in administration and management as well.