University students always focus on one specific subject, but some people think that universities should encourage their students to study a wide range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most Universities allow students to apply for their chosen streams of study, while few universities believe that students should give equal importance to varied subjects and take further education in them along with their majors. I partly disagree to this belief, that students be forced to take additional subjects beyond their fields of interest. According to me this will be too much overstressing for the students and will impact their performance. I would hereby, clarify both the point of views with proper reasoning.

Firstly, We cannot deny the fact that education gives us wisdom, the wider the range, the better the person. They can gain more confidence, interactive skills, helping them get better job prospects and a better placement in the competitive world. A higher skill set level with varied subjects, can help them keep pace with the fast moving technological advancements too. It surely will help them grow intellectually, emotionally as well as helps them stay socially connected with the surrounding world.

Having said this, we also need to understand that graduation is not an easy task. It needs a lot of concentration, analytical, reasoning skills with great grasping capabilities. If a student is forced to take subject, in addition to the main subject of specialization, they may get overburdened, and will lose interest due deviation of attention. For example, a Medical student being asked to take subjects related to creative streams like drawing or some language learning. The student, having no interest in the subject may not be able to concentrate and perform even in the primary subjects.

To conclude, forcing students to take varied subjects not related to their majors, that they are graduating in, would lead to mere distraction and a waste of talent and energy. Students should be able to make choices of their subjects based on their individual preferences and ultimate goals.