We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in business, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things will they be used in the future? Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits?

The invention of the computer is referred to as an epic among the other technological breakthroughs of last century. The role of computers in today’s lifestyle has reached such dizzy heights than anyone could ever imagine. Righteously, its use in various fields of medicine, crime investigation and even aerospace engineering is explicit. In the midst of a computer-driven world, its future purposes are infinite. The affinity that human has developed for this technological gizmo is mammoth, and this dependency, for many is moot.

In the present scenario, majority of the fields, mankind thrives on are revolutionised by computers. Its significance in the medical field, for instance, is quite imperative. For example, from the safeguarding of patient medical records to the automated and meticulous interpretation of investigation reports, are computerised. The role of computers in crime investigation is rather inevitable nowadays. Global satellite tracking on personal gadgets of criminals to chase them down would exemplify this. Another significant technological impact computers made is in aero-spacing, where, even flying an aircraft has become computerised, dubious whether Charles Babbage envisaged the same?

The future use of computers by the humankind is endless. To name or pinpoint on its future prospectives, would be cumbersome or rather impossible. Some believe that in near future, computers will serve the purpose of being the 'first hand 'of help to humans. A globalised world under the umbrella of the computer revolution is not farsighted as before. The very existence computer operated human robots that could even replace a human, is not a myth anymore.

Now having discoursed, about the computer revolution and its effects on mankind, a question of one getting dependent on computers is impeccable. In this globalised world, computer addiction is a major concern unattended. Children spending long hours on computers and its misuse in workplaces by employees is ubiquitous and a generally accorded bane.

In my opinion, as humans, one should be able to imbibe the virtues and reject the vice, when it comes to using computers.