Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the developed nations welcome displaced people from other countries, and aid them with eatables and shelter. This essay completely agrees with this idea because this gesture would portray the image of a peace-loving country to the world, and the host country could increase its economy through these refugees.

The primary reason for accepting refugees by the rich nations is to draw a better image to the world because of war these refugees become homeless. Moreover, they leave their houses and have nothing to eat so by giving them all the basic necessities, the accepting country leaves a message to the world that we are peace-loving and not pro-war. For example, in the Syrian Civil War, 2017 3.6 million refugees migrated and accepted by the Turkish government and upon this gesture, the United Nations stated that Turkey is one of the top five nations who want peace on earth.

Secondly, refugees are helpful in improving the countries’ economy because the host country can use them as a skilled worker by giving them jobs. Some of the migrants would be skilled professionals and their skills can be used by the host country, to improve their rapidly growing economy, in particular, areas where there is a shortage of labour. In return, they will get a handsome amount and pay tax to the government and results in a wealthier nation. For example, Canada aimed to invite more than 1 million refugees from different countries due to the shortage of labour and hence it will boost their economy.

To conclude, some people believe that rich nations should receive more refugees because it begets benefits to the recipient countries in terms of economy and depicts a peaceful image in front of the world.