Wedding are bigger and more expensive in many others at present than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Modern wedding celebrations are becoming more expensive and spacious than previous generations. In my opinion this is happening due to economic disponibilities and this is creating much concern about expenditures

Firstly, it is believed that rise of standards is the main reason. As a result, more countries have a handle on a wedding budgets. Secondly, society has managed to create unrealistic expectations when it comes to wedding. Another reason is that, weddings come with social pressures that might influence to spend. One clear example, is competition between couples among friend circles. Last but not the least, couple feel the pressure from families and are obliged to throw a lavish wedding.

On the other hand, couples that think their wedding should not be fancy actually spend more than they have planned. Consequently, every little part of the wedding is going to cost money. Starting from the venue, to the cameraman and so on. For this reason, many couples get into debt just to pay for their wedding. According to statistics one-quarter of couples are prepared to go into debt for their weddings which they might later regret. In reality, couple doesn't need to dig this deep for a decent wedding experience and the money saved can be put to better use. For instance, the saved amount can be used for a down payment of your dream house or saving for children college in the near future.

To encapsulate, nowadays people have more expandable income to spend due to higher standards in some countries but in most cases this doesn't come with no cost.