When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most common debate about designing a building is that whether functionality is more crucial than its aesthetical appearance.In my opinion the best use of a space is when form and function go hand-in-hand.

The notion for the creation of a building is to utilize the space as per the occupants need and requirements. For this integration of spaces, circulation patterns, services and variations in levels play a vital role. A space becomes functional when the categorization of activities is as per the users primary, secondary and tertiary needs.

Whilst considering the form exposed materials, shapes, surrounding landscape and aesthetics are essential attributes. A psychologist theory suggests that human develop a perception or judgment of an object in merely 20 seconds by its physical appearance irrelevant of its purpose. Physical boundary of a building acts as a barrier to light, noise, pollution and climate. The position of windows, use of materials and extrusion of spaces are physical aspects that are to be considered so that utilization becomes proper.

In order to incorporate liveliness in a space, utility and appearance have to be worked out simultaneously. To enhance the workability of a building facing of the spaces should be as per the direction and catchment areas.The use of materials is constrained to the placement of activities in a notified direction and its usage during different hours of the day. Also, if a building is designed accounting the internal activities, the creativity of its purpose will be superbly revealed.

To conclude, although it is widely discussed that only the fulfillment of internal functions is necessary and exterior facade has a minute role to play. The above mention points explicitly illustrate that form and function are relatively cohesive for the intended use of the building.