You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In 21st century people are moving enormously towards digital platform and as a result digital media has taken over from handwritten letters enhancing the mode of communication. As a consequence, writing letters is outdated mode of connecting many people. I completely agree with this statement and following paragraphs shall support my viewpoint.

In a last few decades, modern communication methods such as digital media, socializing applications has changed the way we connect with people. These techniques of communication are faster and makes us reach to any person around the globe within a fraction of seconds. For instance, Applications like Whatsapp, Instagram and Facebook lets us connect to our loved ones in just few minutes whereas traditional letters took ages to reach our family and even sometimes could not reach to desired location.

In addition, newer communication methods are so effective that they can be addressed to a plethora of people at the same time. Earlier if any political announcement were needed to be published by government for the awareness of society, it required multiple media to reach the desired amount of people in the society. However, in modern era with assistance from publication of news bulletin on social media and digital platform, this can spread to mass population within shortest span and minimal efforts.

Furthermore, traditional letter writing has diminishing effects on environment as it requires papers made out of trees to generate huge amount of printed letters resulting in dis-balancing the ecosystem of the earth. Moreover, industries that create such material for writing throw away wastes in terms of chemicals into direct sources of water causing water population.

To sum up, modern techniques are most effective ways of communication as compare to traditional letter writing. It has benefitted society not only with rapid reach but also addressing huge population in short span. Last but not least, less papers means no cutting of trees and reduced impacts on environmental eco-system.