You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take?

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the past years, the rising popularity of using mobile phones has changed our way of living, communicating and working. Smartphones might be the reason for our social or health problems. In fact, phones are slightly overtaking our society and people do not live in reality. In my opinion, the negative effects outweigh the positive when it comes to using mobile phones.

Nowadays smartphones are playing an enormous role in our society and facing serious social problems. People are used to carrying their phones wherever they go and face the screen most of the time. In fact, it is ruining our social community as people are not talking with each other as much as before. Especially the younger generation is affected as they follow what others do. Playing or simply enjoying each other company is not popular anymore instead, youngsters now spend time on the phone. For example, in recent surveys in Estonia, 90% of people are watching their phones in public transport and 99% of students using it between class brakes.

Mobile phones are affecting our mental health and have a strong relation with sleeping problems. Younger people are taking a lot of courage from social media. The main big issue related to that is following others' life and outlook. These days being skinny, tanned and wearing the latest fashion are forced by social media. Young people might feel pressurized and get stressed which in turn might result in mental health like depression or starvation. In addition, it has been proofed that the blue light coming from the screen is giving our brain wrong signals about sleep, therefore, keeping us up that in the long term causes insomnia.

In conclusion, using mobile phones the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, as people are not socialized and spend more time on their phones than being in reality. Also, the younger generation follows too much social media which in turn can affect mental health.