You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

People succeed because of their hard work; luck has nothing to do with success.Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

No person in this world will achieve success if one will not work hard for his/her goal. However, I do believe that only hard work will not be sufficient to reach out objective; smart work is also required in today's competitive world. I will elaborate my ideas in my further paragraphs.

To embark on, no one can deny that all famous and successful persons work rigorously to achieve their goals; but they possess other qualities as well. For instance, Rajni Kant - a renowned India movie star - was a bus conductor prior to reach his success. However, during his difficult time, he never stopped practicing his acting talent, and never gave up his dream. He would have lost in that tough situation, had he gave up his dream, and stopped believing his ability. Self-confidence and self-belief are two major qualities of successful persons.

Furthermore, are we all successful although we all work hard? The answer is definite "No", because not everyone can perceive opportunity. A stone can be break in one blow, if one hit the stone at the right spot and with right force. Similarly, if a person can detect opportunity at right time with all relevant efforts and resources, success is guaranteed. For instance, Steve Job - a great visionary - was successful because of his capability to identify the opportunity. There were hundreds of companies dealing with electronic products, but Steve could identify the need of the market at correct time, and came up with a product- "Iphone", which fascinate consumers, and later success story is known to all.

To recapitulate, although hard work is necessary to be a successful person, the other qualities such as self-confidence, self-belief and ability to grab opportunity are also important.