You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge apply for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

There is a discussion whether money ought to be charged for visiting museums, art exhibitions or not. One part of demos sincerely assume that taking money from visitors is a decent practice and the another part of people honestly believe that paying for seen masterpieces of artwork and historical artifacts is indecent practice which should be abandoned. Below we will look at arguments which are presented by both sides and after that I will share my viewpoint on the issue with my reader.

To begin with, paying some money for watching historical items and art works has its conspicuous advantages. Probably the most obvious one is that the money might be used to pay the staff of the venues as well as spend some money on maintenance of the works which are demonstrated to the public. In fact, many museums even managed to acquire new items for their exhibitions, for instance, Museum of Russian hisotory has recently bought an ancient painting of Holy Trinity on one of Europes auctions. The purchasing of the painting will not be possible without substential amount of money collected from visitors.

At the same time, many people tend to adhere to opposing opinion that works of arts and historical items must be available to all people. The main argument which is used by them is that those works and items are national heritage and therefore government should allocate money to the museums and art galleries. Moreover, if all musuems and exhibitions are free from charge, students and pupils will be able to visit them as often as they want or need. For instance, today children who studied at school have to pay and this amount sometimes may be a serious one. To illustrate my claim, we may take a look at the cost a ticket at Moscow art museum which costs about 50 dollars. Although this amount may be seen as insignificant by a foreighner, it may be unbearable amount for some families.

In my opinion, the best solution to this issue would be reducing price for visiting those places to minimum. This may be easily achieved in case government will include expenses on museums and art galleries in budget. If it is done, all people who want to participate to the arts and historycal values will be able to see them, at the same time, some money will be recieved from public and this additional income may be used