Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation.

Why is this the case?

What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

There are some people who tend to believe that today’s youth have reached an unprecedented level of influence on contemporary world and I tend to agree with this prospect. Below some reasons and effects of the trend will be discussed in detail.

To begin with, spreading of the internet and computer technology might partly be responsible for the emergency of the trend. The web and computers in all their forms from desktops to e-tablets have penetrated almost all aspects of our life, moreover, many activities that used to take place off-line has become internet-based and the young generation that has been using the net since childhood is better at this. To illustrate, the economist has recent published a study that revealed that American politicians such as senators and congress persons accept more than 81 percent of correspondence by e-mail, and 85 percent of those letters were sent by young individuals who is, perhaps, more comfortable with computers. In other words, the current development of modern world has allowed young people to voice their needs and problems whereas older people who are less familiar with the computers are likely to struggle to convey their thoughts to politicians.

Secondly, growing influence of young individuals has allowed them to state their positions on many issues, and politicians who serve to the people must have to hear them. If we look at the contemporary world, we will see many improvements from environmental issues to gender equality. All those changes have created the social and cultural environment that suits more to the young and reflects that stances. So, computer savvy young people have tried to forge more fair and friendly world for themselves.

Finally, there is some disagreement and even resentment between older and younger generations who often have opposing points of view on many crucial issues but the struggle between those groups may be resolved via such democratic means as referendum. Probably, Brexit might be a proper example of it. In 2012 before the Brexit took place, the Telegram has published results of polls that revealed that the majority of older people want to leave the EU, at the same time, young individuals wished to stay within the European Union. The conflict was resolved via referendum. Thus, although there is a struggle for power between generations it is resolved through lawful means and procedures.

To sum up, growing influence of young people on the today’s society is obvious and spreading of modern technologies is likely to have contributed greatly to the development of the situation. The alteration has led to better representation of youngsters’ positions and some conflicts with older generation but those contradictions are being addressed via democratic means.