11.In times of an economic crisis, in which area should governments reduce their spending?

1. Arts

2. Scientific research

3. Parks and public gardens.

(The Preference type, three sides of the issue should be discussed, but focusing on one)

Today, in our modern society, it is possible for any government to suffer from the financial depression because of the unstable situation in economy. As one of the responsibilities of any government is to provide the best quality of life for their people, the state can limit the budget in some part of their costs. With this in mind, there are different viewpoints as to whether in which parts the government should reduce the money. Some believe that the arts is one of the non-essential parts in people life others believe otherwise. Personally, I subscribe to the latter group--that is—public parks’ budget should be reduced for some reasons, two of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, scientific research is the base of the development of any nations. All of the progress in human life has to with the research which are done with professor or students in universities, which get have obtained their budget from the government, and without the funding provided by government none of the academic individuals cannot perform anything in their research. In economic depression, this is the science that can help to suppress the hard situation. The scientific research can able the nation to surmount their obstacles or hindrance so much so that in economic crises, the nation will not depend on other countries for their supplies. Take for instance, my country that have experience a lot of sanction from some countries. Because of the sanction, the rate of gasoline was so high in our country and there were no ideas to solve this dependency to the import of gasoline. However, by providing some fund for scientific research in the area of oil, the researchers find a useful method to produce the gasolin in our country; therefore, we are no longer depend on other country for gasolin. If our government did not give that budget to scholar, there is no doubt our nation had experienced a disadvantageous situation which must not have been solved easily. On the other hand, it maybe true that parks are places that people spend their time to diminish the hard condition the have in their life, but in unfavorable economic condition, such places as parks are usually empty of crowd because people do not have enough time to spend there in such critical monetary crises, so considering money for them are just wasting the capital.

Another subtle point to mention is that Arts are one of the most significant source of income for the government and the nation. If the state provide the essential budget for the arts, the possibility of attracting more tourist is so high. As the arts are the culture of any nation such as music, dance, literature, and movies, as far as being known in the world for any nation is concerned, the arts play an important role in appealing more and more tourists, because what is interesting for aliens is the arts of any country. In this regard, in the financial crises, if the government reduce the necessary money for developing arts, what will happen as consequence? However, the public parks or gardens are the places that are ubiquitous in all around the world, so that all of us have seen in any city such parks, which do not have any intriguing aspect for attracting other individuals from other nations; therefore, the state should not allot budget to these places, instead, as it is generally sensed, the arts are the aspect of any nation which is new and interesting for others.