177- A friend of yours has received some money and plans to use all of it either to go on vacation or to buy a car

Your friend has asked you for advice. Compare your friend’s two choices and explain which one you think your friend should choose.

Money represents the only way people can purchase the necessary things to have a normal live. During the last century, the world has confronted with some major economic crisis, and those who did not have savings went through very difficult times. A friend of mine received an amount of money and he has to decide between going on a holiday or buying a car. I think the latter option is better, due to the fact that a car represents an investment and because it is useful. I will explain my choice in detail, in the following essay.

First and foremost, a vehicle equals to an investment on long term. When an individual buys a car, money are not lost because the car can be sold later. While, going to a holiday means spending all the money. Therefore, if unpleasant events take place or if he just needs some extra money, selling the car is a savior option. Otherwise, he should borrow money from a bank which means going in debts for a certain period and paying interest rate. My brother's experience is a compelling example. My nephew got ill and my brother did not have enough money for his treatment. He went to a bank to see how much money can borrow, but he changed his mind when he realized how big the interest rate was. He had to pay triple the amount he was given. Then he decided to sell the car he bought a car a few years ago, and he used the revenue to treat my nephew. Thus, buying a car is financial advantageous on long term.

To continue with, an automobile is very useful because it can be used daily. It can be used for going to work, to trips, for taking the children to school or going out any time an individual wishes without being constrained by the schedule of public transportation means. Moreover, the monthly money spend on gas, adding the comfort and the personal space, are more or less the same with the amount someone spends on common transportation. For instance, when I go to visit my parents I pay around 50 dollars for train, buses and taxi. Not to mention that I have to carry my luggage and that I have to share the space with unknown people. Besides this a lot of time is wasted. A car trip costs me the same, and I do not have to face the other disadvantages. Furthermore, when I come back from my parents, I can take a lot of food supply. So, having a car is very helpful.

To summarize, my friend should definitely buy a car instead going on a holiday. This is because a physical good can be valued sometime in the future, in case of shortage of money. A vehicle is also beneficial, because it can be used to day to day activities, saving time and money.