Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preferable

Learning is a process that takes time and patience. Some consider that it is better to listen to the advice of family and friends, others believe that personal experiences are the most efficient ways for self-development. As far as I am concerned I agree with the latter statement. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

First and foremost, personal experiences are well-rooted in a person's memory. These are facts that an individual cannot forget, especially when they provide negative results. Moreover, people have the chance to evaluate, to analyze and to decide what is the valuable know-how of those situations. Whereas, if a member of a family wants to give a piece of advice about life, an individual tends not to believe or take it serious. This is because family is seldom overprotective and their advice seem to be the subjective, even though they might be right in the end. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Back in high school I used to have a very good friend, to whom I was sharing personal details. My mother warned me not to be very open about my feelings and beliefs, because one day I might be disappointed by my friend. My mom also believed that my friend was envy on me, but I did not give too much importance to this. A few years after, I found that "my best friend" was spreading fake stories about me, based on what I used to tell her, but she distorted my version. Thus, from my experience I learned not to trust people that much ever again.

To continue with, the society is in a continuing process of development, of changing and these can be noticed only when a person have direct contact with diverse situations. As a result, some realities that were applicable in the past, are not suitable for the present. For instance, my mother has always repeated to me that the only path to reach success is by going to the University. When she was young, the students who were attending college were granted with a good job. Moreover, the profile they studied in college was not very important. Unfortunately, today's realities are far away from being the same. Students have to do much more work for being successful: they must do inter-ships, volunteering work and learn more then three foreign languages in order to differentiate themselves from others. So, sometimes others experiences do not apply to realities anymore.

To summarize, the best way of learning is by personal experience. This is because personal livings are stuck in our memory and because sometimes family's advice is not proper for modern times.