In 1957 a European silver coin dating to the eleventh century was discovered at a Native American archaeological site in the state of Maine in the United States. Many people believed the coin had been originally brought to North America by European explorers known as the Norse, who traveled across the Atlantic Ocean and came into contact with Native Americans almost a thousand years ago.

However, some archaeologists believe that the coin is not a genuine piece of historical evidence but a historical fake: they think that the coin was placed at the site recently by someone who wanted to mislead the public. There are three main reasons why some archaeologists believe that the coin is not genuine historical evidence

Great Distance from Norse Settlements

First, the Native American site in Maine where the coin was discovered is located very far from other sites documenting a Norse presence in North America Remains of Norse settlements have been discovered in far eastern Canada. The distance between the Maine site and the Norse settlements in Canada is more than a thousand kilometers, suggesting the coin has no real connection with the settlements.

No Other Coins Found

A second problem is that no other coins have been found at the Canadian sites that were inhabited by the Norse. This suggests that the Norse did not bring any silver coins with them to their North American settlements.

No Use for European Coins

Third, the Norse who traveled to North America would have understood that silver coins would most likely be useless to them. Silver coins may have been in wide use in Europe at the time, but the Norse, as experienced explorers, would have known that native North Americans did not recognize silver coins as money.

The article and the lecture are both about the eleven century European silver coin, which was found in the Native American archeological site. The author presents three theories about why the coin could not have brought by Norse to North America. The lecture dispute that claims made in the article. His position is that they are all incorrect.

According to the reading the location of finding is of great distance from of the Norse actual settlement, which is eastern side of Canada. The article mentions that, the distance between these two locations is thousands of kilometers, which bolster the assumption that the coins have no relation with the actual settlement of notes. This argument is challenged by the lecturer. He claims that the North American travel vast area and collect object from far reach places. Additionally she pointed out that, they could have come in contact with the Norse and brought back the silver coins.

Secondly, the author suggests that, no European silver coins were discovered in the Norse original settlement site. The lecturer however asserts that, since the Norse were not the native people of America, they return with all their valuables back to their mother land. She goes on to say that, during their retune, they return with all their possessions including silver coins.

Finally the author points that, North American people didn't value the silver coins due to which the coins were useless to them. He contends that, the natives have different monetary value and silver coin was not one of them. In contrast, the lecture’s stance is native people of America valued objects that were very attractive and objects with unusual characteristics. He notes that, silver coins could have been integrated part of their ornaments, so the coins could have been used in the process of transection between Norse and Native Americans.