In 20 years there will be fewer cars than today. Do you agree or disagree?

The number of cars are increasing day by day and the automobile industry is at its peak than at any point in human history. While many predict that this number is evergrowing, I accord to the idea that this will come to an end in few years and start decreasing. Throughout the essay i have mentione several reason to bolster my claim.

One of the main reasons for this is the scarcity of fuel in today's times which is leading to an increase in price of gas and oil. Eventually this will reach a point where its not econocomically viable to own cars. Even though some might argue about the presence of electrical cars, I'd like to point out the huge price difference between electrical cars and the traditional ones. It is highly unlikely that the prices of these electric cars will reduce to an affordable rate, especially for the middle-class, in the next twenty years.

My personal experience is another compelling example of this. About a year ago, the metro rail started operating in my city which was much faster and cheaper way to commute. As a result I stopped using my car on a daily basis. This was highly economical, time saving and spared me the stress of going through everyday traffic. The population is only going to increase in the next twenty years, which means the the traffic on roads will be way more than it is today. Majority would agree that a high amount of patience required to get through the cacophony everyday during the rush hour traffic. I definitely predict a positive shift in the mindset of people which will lead them to abandon their automobiles and switch to public transportation.

Another reason to support my argument is the rising environmental protection activism and widespread awareness. People are more aware of the damages caused to the environment by human actions and many of them are willing to make a change. This attitude will lead to a much more energy efficient community who use less of these greenhouse gas emitting vehicles.

In conclusion, I'm of the opinion that there will be a decline in number of cars twenty years from now than today.