In 20 years there will be fewer cars than today. Do you agree or disagree?

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live with the ever-increasing rate of technologies, usage of all kinds of vehicles, among which are trains, buses, and cars, is at its peak. A controversial question which is often raised in this area is whether the number of cars will increase in twenty years. Although some people are inclined towards the idea that the usage of cars will increase in future years, I think otherwise. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will try to provide some convincing reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

First and paramount reason which comes to my mind is that with the chronic increase in the price of oil and gas, it becomes more cost-effective using public transportation instead of personal cars. Automobiles use fossil fuels to operate, and the number of resources of these fuels is limited or remote to access, with this in mind, increasing the value and price of fuel is inevitable. Even though some persons might argue that electric cars can be replaced with traditional cars, it is implausible that in the next twenty years, electric cars become affordable, especially for the middle-class of society.

Another noteworthy reason that deserves some words here is that a lot of task in future can be done without the need to commute, thus using the cars will be limited to particular tasks. With the improvement of technology and emerge of robots and artificial intelligence, the role of human being will decrease in the operating tasks. Therefore, people can do their jobs indoor, and student can enrol classes online. With this in mind, commuting will decrease.

Last but not least, another reason for decreasing the number of cars concerns about environmental protection plans. Thanks to the world wide web and social media programs, governments and ecosystem agencies boosted people’s awareness of the impacts which fossil fuels have in polluting ecosystem, and a lot of people are willing to make a change. These activities bring about a much more concerned society and less usage of vehicles like personal cars.

To wrap it up, considering all the mentioned reasons, one can conclude that the number of cars will decline in future years.