TPO 38 Writing IndependentDo you agree or disagree with the following statement Leadership comes naturally one cannot learn to be a leader Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings tend to live in societies and communities. Being a leader among people, making a group and maintaining it is amongst the controversial topics debated by individuals. When it comes to this point, it is the question of many persons that what characteristics make a person a great leader. One particular standpoint is that leadership comes naturally. Personally speaking, I repudiate this idea. In what follows, I will delve into the most critical reasons to shed light on my viewpoint.

The first and foremost reason which comes to my mind is that families are of great importance in shaping the personality of their members. Managing, decision making, taking responsibility, and confidence, to name but a few, are among the traits of which leaders are in need. It goes without saying that children's mind is like a blank slate which can be shaped gradually. It is the family which can sow the seeds of various attributes in children's mind. To put it into a more vivid picture, assume two families, each family has a seven year-old-boy. The first family teaches the boy to take the responsibilities of his own work and manage his time and homework. They take his back in different conditions but rarely do they allow the boy to be noticed of their full-time attention. However, the second family always supports the boy and helps him in his work instead of allowing him to deal with the problems with his own abilities and make decisions. It is crystal clear that over the course of few years, the first boy is more likely to become a leader due to the fact that his family has established managing abilities and some other attributes of a great leader in his mindset.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that the ability to be a leader, just like other skills, can be learnt by practising and attending certain courses. Nowadays, there are plentiful courses in universities all over the world, and a lot of professionals convey their experiences through conferences and symposiums. One who wants to become a good leader can seize these opportunities, take lessons from these adept teachers, and practice establishing the features of a leader in his/ her personality. These characteristics, like every other skill, can thrive. By looking at the history of great leaders, one can notice that a lot of them had a good teacher. As a case in point, the leader of the Islamic revolution of Iran, Ayatollah Khomeini, was the student of Ayatollah Boroujerdi-one of the greatest and knowledgeable teachers of his era. Ayatollah Khomeini always said that he had learnt a lot of leadership lessons from his great teacher, and he ever tried to mirror his actions. By and large, the more one tries to flourish his leadership traits, the more s/he become successful in leading people.

To put everything in a nutshell, considering all the aforementioned reasons, we can conclude that leadership can be learnt and people can flourish their abilities to become a successful leader.