7.Some young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, which way can bring them the most benefit?

1)to accumulate work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community

2)learning to play a sport

3)learning to play a musical instrument

Nowadays, students are exposed to all kinds of things to do during their leisure time, from entertaining activities, learning new knowledge to accumulating experience. Learning to play a sport or musical instrument, with no doubt, benefits students a lot. However, only work or volunteer experience can enhance their competitiveness in looking for satisfying jobs and help them outcompete their peers. Therefore, I concede that accumulating work or volunteer experience is definitely the most beneficial thing.

Initially, abundant work and volunteer experience can serve as a certificate of students’ excellent abilities in specific field, which can help them find better jobs or get offers of their dream schools. On the one hand, doing internship or volunteer provides students a great opportunity to integrate what they have learned in class with practice, laying a solid foundation for their future career. On the other hand, students will meet a wealth of interesting and brilliant people while participating in these activities, make like-minded friends and even build life-long friendships. Take my friend Gilbert as example, apart from attending courses and doing assignments, he spent almost all his time in accumulating experience by part-time jobs in the financial field. So he gradually became expert at collecting industry data, reading financial reports efficiently and wrote in-depth reports of companies. When his classmates struggled to find jobs before graduation, he received lots of interview invitations of big companies such as Boston Consulting Group and Citi Bank. Showing his splendid resume and strong capability of industry analysis, Gilbert stood out among his competitors and finally got the offer from Citi Bank.

Admittedly, we cannot deny that students can relax themselves by learning to play a sport or a musical instrument. What’s more, they manage to maintain good health both mentally and physically by obtaining new ways to work out and enrich their lives. Thus, some people assert that it’s indispensable to laying sports or instrument in free time to please themselves. However, learning new things is so time and energy consuming that students cannot afford to sacrifice their precious time for it. As for me, I’m enthusiastic about music and have been longing for learning to play the guitar. However, I’m always bombard with a large amount of tasks, overwhelming by assignments, competitions and presentations. I’m considerably clear that accumulating experience by part-time jobs is the most critical thing now, for nothing can surpass the happiness that a well-paid job brings to me.

In conclusion, considering all the factors above, it is obvious to see my notion that accumulating experience by part-time jobs or volunteering performs more important role in students’ future development than the learning to play a sports or an instrument.