Agree or disagree Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children

I definitely agree that life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children. The world has evolved greatly over time since my parents were children, let alone my grandparents. That would be two generations backward. These evolutions have occurred in the areas of housing, basic amenities, transportation, technology, etc to mention but a few. To buttress my point, I will go ahead and give a few scenarios.

First of all, while my late grandparents were still alive, on a few occasions, I had the opportunity to visit the village in Africa where they lived. My grandparents lived in a mud house with a thatched roof. Whenever there was a strong wind or a heavy downpour, the roof had to be reinforced. Also, there were no beds and my grandparents as well as my parents, my siblings and I had to sleep on raffia mats. Those raffia mats usually were the cause of the back pain suffered by my grandparents in the later parts of their lives. Today, I live in a well-erected building, built with bricks and wood. I also sleep in a very comfortable bed with a bed frame and a mattress with plush pillows.

In the area of basic amenities, the necessities of life such as water, electricity, and healthcare were not readily available in the days of my grandparents. Water for drinking, cooking, bathing, as well as for other domestic purposes were all gotten from one source which was the river and this exposed them to various water-borne diseases. Regarding electricity, it was unstable and the use of kerosene lamps was rampant. the healthcare system was also poorly developed as they relied solely on traditional medicine and herbs got from bushes within the village. On one occasion, I developed hemorrhoids and my grandfather went and got some herbs to make a concoction which I drank, but brought me only a temporary relief. Today, I have pipe-borne water, which flows into my home, the electricity is constant, and the healthcare system is topnotch when compared to the days of my grandparents.

In conclusion, I would like to shed more light on how transportation and technology have evolved from the days of my grandparents to date.there were very few cars back in the days of my grandparents. The most common means of transportation was the bicycle on land, or by canoe on the water. We had to walk long distances in our day to day commute back in the day. Movement from one city to another was difficult and would take long hours or days as the transportation system was poorly developed. There were no computers or phones. Today, transportation coupled with technology has evolved. There are more advanced cars, vans, trucks, planes, as well as state of the art ships to mention but a few to make transportation easier, faster and more comfortable. Communication is now easier and more comfortable with the emergence of mobile phones, computers, and the internet which has made the world a global village. Life today is undoubtedly much more easier and comfortable than in the days of my grandparents.