Which one do you like products made by hand or by machine

Production of goods is either by hand or by machine. Whichever way these products are made, they have a target market. I come under the target market for products that are handcrafted because of their individualism and flexibility.

Firstly, hand-made products are more meticulously designed and tailored to meet the needs of the individual than machine-made products which is meant the meet the needs of the masses. As a dressmaker I know the individual needs of my clients. Every client has a different body shape, different fashion orientation as well as dress sense. Each client is carefully interviewed and given options and this gives them a wide range of choice designs to choose from. After they have made their choices, their body dimensions are taken to ensure proper fitting of the finished product. This is not the case of a machine-produced clothing where you do not have the opportunity to choose your design and the fitting is a hit-or-miss.

Secondly hand-made products are unique. No two meticulously handcrafted products are the same. This is not the case of machine production in which case there is the mass production of the products.

In the same vein, there is room for amendments and corrections if need be for hand-made products, and there are fewer mistakes. This is not the case in products that are machine-made where there are more mistakes and there is no room to amend or correct such mistakes. For example regarding the hand made dresses, I always create room for some extra fabric on the inside of the dresses called an allowance, which gives me an opportunity to reshape those dresses in the event that my clients put on some extra pounds and vice-versa.

Lastly, hand-made products have more tendencies to evolve over time because of the proactive mind that is open to fresh ideas and new designs. But a machine is programmed to produce automatically and unless there is a newer technology, in which case, the machine has to be replaced or upgraded, a process that is expensive, it will produce the same products with the same designs and specifications.