Agree or disagree: Teachers should be paid at least as much as doctors, lawyer

There is an old saying that states, “Teachers nourish and germinate the future germs of a country”. That is really true when doctors, lawyers, or business leaders, and so on, were taught by their teachers in order to be successful in their careers. Therefore, it is reasonable and indisputable that teachers should be paid at least as much as doctors, lawyers, or business leaders. My points of view will be elaborated and exemplified below.

First of all, teachers play a no less important role in society than doctors, lawyers, or business leaders. Teachers are responsible for imparting their precious and profound knowledge to their students, who promisingly will become such doctors to cure diseases for patients, such lawyers to protect innocent citizens from crimes, and such business leaders to generate benefits and foster the economy of a country. Without their profound and knowledgeable teachers/mentors, will they be competent, and therefore, capable to receive those high salaries? Actually, it is very hard for them to be successful in their careers without the help of their venerable teachers. Hence, teachers should be paid appropriately and correspondingly to their spending efforts in education.

Second, a high salary plays as an incentive or great impetus for teachers to devote all their hearts and souls, as well as their abilities in educating students. In fact, teachers in some countries, especially in Vietnam, receive a quite low salary. This money only just helps them to pay for their families’ expenses, not to mention a comfortable life. Also, due to lacking money invested in their researches, the further achievements in their careers seem to be out of their hands. A lot of potential and eminent teachers want their research-works to be blossomed, but they cannot realize their dreams because they are lacking in money.

Furthermore, with a high salary for teachers, we can attract more talented students who are willing to become teachers in the future. Actually, there are a great numbers of students who really want to become teacher sin the future, but due to facing a poor and unattractive future perspective, they are not willing to do so. Additionally, although they are very talented and want to be teachers, they have to face with many temptations from other careers—doctors, engineers, to name but a few, that can provide them high salaries and comfortable working environment for them to do researches and develop their skills. Thus, only by paying appropriately for the teachers can we foster their commitment to their careers and attract more talented students to become teachers.

For the aforementioned arguments, there is no doubt that teachers are very important in generating talented and high-skilled workforce for a country, and they should be paid properly. In this way, we can foster our citizens’ standard knowledge and obtain new achievements that benefit all of us.