agree or disagree?

television had a positive effect on socoety

The invention of television was one of the most exciting inventions; why so, people called the television, “the magic box”. Since the invention of television, people have different opinions about effects of television on their life and on societies. Some people believes, television could have a positive effect and make them aware of the things happening around them, while, others think based on bad effect of television on children, it is not that much good and must be limited. In my view, television could not have a positive effect on society. I would like to elaborate my opinion with following reasons.

First, people waste their time by watching television for a long time. We all have experienced this problem that we started watching a television show, and suddenly found ourselves wasting too much time on television and we could not do our works. In these days, which we have lots of task to do and we need to manage our time in the best way, television can be a real treat for us, because, by taking lots of our time, prohibit us of doing our tasks at the time. Last week, I had a chemistry exam and because I had just one day off, I had to study hard for it; but, the day when I was planned to study, when I came back home, I decided to watch television for just an hour and then start my study. But after three hours, I found myself still watching television and because I wasted some part of my study time, I could not study as much as I needed and failed in the exam. So, that is why I think television wastes our time.

Second, some programs of television are not good at all. If something wants to have a positive effect on the society, it must make people aware or increase their knowledge, but as we all know, most programs we watch them on television are not good and does not teach us anything useful. besides that, every single day, we see some movies which are not good for children and they should not watch them if they are under a certain age; but, no one can prohibit children from watching those bad programs. In this way, not only television cannot have a positive effect on the society, but also it puts a deep and bad influence on children. For instance, one of my neighbors has a ten years old boy, and each time I meet him, he talks about so many bad and dangerous things he has learned from television. I think television has ruined the morality in him and so many other children.

To cut the long story short, I would like to assert that I am disagree with this idea that television had a positive effect on the society. Why so, we cannot trust to most of the news we hear on television and also there is so many bad movies which increase the tense of violence in children or teach them lots of bad words. That is why, I think television did not have a positive effect on societies.