solitude can teach us a lot

Solitude and spending time alone is one of the best experiences a person can have and can learn from it. When we are alone, we have this chance to think more deeply about everything; and, solitude even make it possible to think about topics we cannot focus on them when we are surrounded by others. But, can spending time alone always be good and teach us? In my view, spending time alone cannot always teach us a lot. We need to go out and learn things in real world. Why so, sometimes real world is not like exactly as we assume. I would like to elaborate my opinion for following reasons.

First, the truth is not always as we think. When we are alone, we have this chance to analyze everything better, but, sometimes the truth is not exactly as we think and we cannot learn from things which are not true. Three years ago, I had an argument with one of my best friends and it was such a big disappointment for me. I decided to not meet my friends for a while and just be alone. During that time, solitude could help me to feel more calm and think more about the thing which happened. I was sure that the person who did the wrong thing was not me and my friend must apologize me. But, some weeks later, I decided to meet my friends again and when I talked to them about my feeling. When we had a short chat, I realized that I was the person who was wrong and the reality was not as I assumed. From that time, I decided not to think just in a way I think is true and put myself in other people’s shoes. This is a things which happens when you are with others and not spending all the time by your own.

Second, we can learn more from others rather than solitude. When we hang out with our friends or even some people we do not know, we can learn a lot more, why so, our knowledge is limited but, the knowledge we can learn from others is unlimited. Last year, my grandmother passed away and after some weeks I found myself in a big depression. I wanted to be solo and spend all my time by my own. I taught being alone can make me more calm and I can find a way to deal with her death. But, after some months, when I could not help myself by being alone, I decided to meet my friends again and talk to them about this issue that how I can get rid of this blue feeling. They introduced me some books regarding death and also talked to me a lot which helped me a lot to change my mind and feeling about death. Finally, after just some weeks, I was a lot better and it was just thanks to all good things I learned from my friends. If I wanted to continue my solitude, I did not have this chance to learn about what the death really is and how I can put away that depression feeling.

To cut the long story short, I would like to assert solitude can teach us sometimes and we can see some aspects of reality which we have not seen before; But, it just can teach us how to think deeper about everything and even if we be wrong, solitude cannot give us a help. In my view, spending time with others can be better why so even if we learn one thing from each person we meet, the things we can learn totally will be more than the things we learn from being alone.