Maple country development countrol

The council of maple county, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that chestnut county established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. however, opponents of the measure note that pine county adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in maple county.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the passage is discussing one of the problems maple country is confronting with. he states that for solving the problem of overdeveloping in this country, restriction of construction can be a good solution. however, he is concerned that this new policy will result in an increase in the price of housing in the country exactly like what happened to chestnut and pine country some years ago. this memo has some fundamental problems and lacks certainty and cannot be accepted by reader. Here some of these problems will be explained.

First, the author has mentioned that applying the policy of restriction in construction can increase the price of housing, because this method of controlling overdevelopment has resulted in an increase in the prices of housing in chestnut and pine countries. The author has not provided any information regarding the status of these countries. based on this lack of information, it is hard to accept that applying the same policy results in same conditions in maple country. There is a probability that these countries do not be similar and same rule does not bring same consequences. based on this point, the claim of applying the same rule which chestnut and pine countries brings the same result cannot be accepted.

Second, the information stated regarding chestnut and pine countries belongs to ten and fifteen years ago, and based on the point that situation may change by the time, they cannot be accepted as a good comparison for maple country. it has been a while since the time chestnut and pine countries restricted constructions and it is probable that if they apply the same rule again, do not get the same result as the past. it is also possible that if maple country eliminates supplying the housing in current situation, the price does not increase. In one word, because then or fifteen years ago, a policy in a country resulted in some particular consequences, we cannot assure that the same policy brings the same results in current conditions.

Third, the writer of the passage has stated that if a rule regarding elimination in supplying new housing be applied to the maple country, the problem of overdevelopment can be solved. The author has forgotten to provide any more information which assure the reader about this point. The is a possibility that this rule does not be able to control the development rate of the country. if the author had more detailed and convincing information that why this policy can control the development, it was easier to accept this claim.

To sum up, the writer of the passage has tried to discuss the problem of overdeveloping in the maple country and has provided some information as the base of his conclusion. Unfortunately, this information does not hold any ground. some part of the information is related to ten or fifteen years ago and may not be true about current situation. if the author had some more new information, it was better and more acceptable. Another problem is related to comparing different countries which their similarity or difference is not mentioned at all. For making a good comparison, the author should provide some convincing information and states why chestnut and pine countries can be compared to maple. As the last point, it is necessary for the author to states why the rule of restriction in providing new housing can control the development of the country, and how it can exactly, or at least in high possibility, influence on the price of housing.