Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing sports can teach people lessons about life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Group activities like sports are one of the most important activities which can teach people a lot. By doing these kind of activities, people can both enjoy of their time and learn about life and communication. In my view, sports can play a strong role in teaching people different lessons, and I would like to elaborate on my opinion with the following reasons.

First and foremost, People by playing sports realize how they can learn from their mistake. Real life like any sport is full of different situations with good, bad or mediocre results that can teach people a lot. By having a good analyze on mistakes, people can know their strengths and weaknesses, and realize how they can work to get better results. My own experience is a compelling example of this point. I started basketball at the age of ten. In the first years of my activity in this sport, I could get almost twenty scores for my team, and it leads to joining the national basketball team of my country, Iran. During the period that I was a teenager, I was really arrogant, but some of my failures thought me a lot. I learned that no matter how much good I am, I should always pay attention to my mistakes and learn from them. Playing this sport could teach me I am not the best in the world, and should not be very proud of myself. Based all wonderful things I learned from playing basketball, I think it can really help us to learn about life.

Second, playing sport teaches people how to do a good team work which is essential for their success in the real life. One of the main problems almost all the people face to, and is the result of their failures is the lack of knowledge of group activities. Playing sports can teach people how a great team can beat an unorganized team with great players, and it is one of the biggest lessons of life people can learn from sports. To bring an example I can mention to my sister. When she was a kid, she used to play solo sports, and did not like to participate in any group activities. Some years later, when she stablished her own job, she realized that no matter how much a person is good in a specific field, she cannot do all the things by herself, and that was the time when she started to learn about team works. I suggested her to play volleyball which can teach her a lot about group activities and group disciplines. As the result of playing this sport, she taught how to have strong team work, and could succeed in her career too. Her experience is another reason that I believe sports can teach us about life.

To sum up, we should not play sports just for having fun and spending our leisure time. By having a focus on the effects of sports on our lives, we easily realize that how much they role can be important in the life. The bottom line is that sports can show us how to convert our mistakes to victories, and also teach us how to communicate with others.