Do you agree or disagree? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A human is defined by its relationship with other people and these communications are one of the most essential aspects of human life. But people have various approaches in their relationships. Some may think that telling truth and being honest is the most important factor in any relationship; while others disagree. I, personally, subscribe to the former idea for two important reasons.

To begin with, it is an inevitable fact that, trust is the foundation of every successful relationship between humans. A relationship that you cannot trust your partner is a stressful connection, because you are always wondering if he or she is telling the truth and you cannot focus on your relationship and overcome upcoming challenges. To give a tangible example, I had a girlfriend three years ago, which I liked her a lot. After the first anniversary of the start of our relationship, I have found that she had lied to me in some occasions. After that day I was always in stress that if she is lying to me again and that was the main reason the our relation did not last long after that.

The second reason which is worth mentioning is that you can be informed from other approaches and solutions in solving problems you are facing with. When you do not tell the whole truth about your issues and challenges to your partner, you are forced to handle them by yourself. While the advantage of telling the truth is that he or she may have the experience in that field or guide you through the problem. For instance, once I was facing a problem in my master’s degree project and I could not find a solution for that. It took me a lot of time to overcome the problem and I did not tell my girlfriend because I did not want her to think less of me. When I finally told her about the issue, I surprisingly found that she even had a simpler solution for the problem.

In summary, with all this taken into account, I, strongly, believe that we should value our relationships by telling the truth and trusting each other. In fact, not telling the truth will provide unnecessary stress in our relationship and the destroy the feeling of security which have devestating effect on the future of our relationship. Furthermore, we will be alone in facing challenges that could be easily handled with the help of our partner. That is why I think telling truth is on of the most essential considerations in every relationship.