In your opinion, what is the most important characteristic (for example, honesty, intelligence, sense of humor) that a person can have to be successful in life? Use specific reasons and examples from your experience to explain your answer. When you write your answer, you are not limited to the examples listed in the question.

One of the most challenging point all parents face to is the way they should train their children and teach them to be honest, intelligent or have a sense of humor to succeed. The type of characteristic of children can totally change their lives and lead to their success or even failure in the future. Some people think we must teach our children to be honest while others think intelligence is the key to success, and another group of people may consider a sense of humor as the most important characteristic. In my view, intelligence is the most important characteristic and I would like to elaborate on my opinion with following reasons.

First, Life is too short, and we have to learn fast which is possible just by being intelligent. Intelligence is not just about the IQ, it is more about knowing what to learn and how to learn fast and efficiently. Nowadays everything is changing so fast and if we want to go by this flow, we should have this ability to recognize all things we need to know, and also learn from our problems and mistakes at the moment they happen. Besides that, if we want to compete with our rivals, we should know much more than them and this is feasible if we have intelligence. My own experience is a compelling example of this point. Last month, I applied for a job position which was not in the field of my academic education, but because I wanted that job so bad, I tried my best, and learned all required knowledge in a couple of months. However, I had many highly educated rivals, but because I used my intelligence in the best way, I could get the job, and that is why believe intelligence is essential for success.

Second, intelligence helps us to predict the future which is essential to be successful in life. By using our intelligence we can think wiser and make better decisions which lead to our success. If we always be aware of all things happening around us, analyze them and have this ability to foreseen probable things happening in the future, we can be really successful in our life. For instance, my father is a person who everyone counts him as an intelligent person. Three years ago, he participated in an auction, and bought a land which no one was really interested in it, but my father was sure that in just some years the value of the land will increase. He paid 10,000,000 Rial (The currency in Iran) for the land, and now the net value of it is almost 100,000,000 Rial. All the people who knew my father were amazed by his wonderful prediction and after that tried to take some advices from him before buying or selling anything.

To sum up, we cannot say that if a person has one special characteristic, will be successful for sure, and the reality is that if someone wants to succeed, should have a combination of some characteristics which can help him to make better decisions and avoid probable risks. But based on presented justifications, if you ask me what the most important characteristic for success is, I would say that is intelligence.