YOU PREFER TO BE A LEADER OR A MEMBER OF A TEAM?

Team work is one of the most important skills we all need to have. But in team work, we must pay attention to this issue that each person based on his personality type prefer to have a different role in the group. Some people like to lead the group, while, others prefer to be a member of the group and do the things which leader ask them. In my view, I am the type of person who prefer to be a leader. Here is two of my reasons for holding this idea.

First, I have lots of experience as being a leader. When I think about my past, I had team work since I was in elementary school. We had to create groups and do all our projects together. Maybe because I was the person who could talk better and also I was really good in my courses my teammates prefer to choose me as the leader. I never put any pressure on my teammates to select me as leader of the group. It was all their own decision. They were always saying that you are the best person who can be the leader. However, these team works were not that much important, all we need to do was just a simple task. But, they could help me to gain some precious experiences as being a leader. when I get older and started my high school, I decided to be the leader of the groups which I am in them. Being a leader is something that most of the people scare of it. But, I really like to be the person who manages everything. So, based on my experiences of being a leader, I prefer to be the leader of my team. In my view, for being a good leader, you must know how to manage members and control the pressure of the project. I am the person who has done it a lot before, so I can and like to be the leader.

Second, my personality type is more near to a leader rather than a member. Based on my interest in team work, I have read so many books in this regard. I am completely aware that being a leader does not mean that you are a special person. Leadership must not make you apart of the team, and you should not think that you are better than others. In my eyes, the leader is exactly like other members of the group and this role does not have any advantage compare to other roles of the team. But, I like to be the person who leads the team. Why so, as all psychological tests I have done, my personality type is more near to a leader rather than a person who like to just obeys others.

To cut the long story short, all I want to say is that, no matter which position you have in a team. If you want to get the best possible result, all members of the team must be unanimous. No matter you are the leader or just a member, you must act by the book and obey the rules of the team. But, me personally prefer to be a leader. I think if I be the leader I can work better and be a more positive member for the group compare to the time when I am a member. I believe the only thing which is important in team work, is having a deep connection with other members and help the team to achieve its goal in the best possible way. One person can help the team by doing things which leader says, the other one can help the team by leading it. I am the second one.