As a result of numerous consumer complaints of dizziness and nausea, Promofoods requested that eight million cans of tuna be returned for testing last year. Promofoods concluded that the cans did not, after all, contain chemicals that posed a health risk. This conclusion is based on the fact that the chemists from Promofoods tested samples of the recalled cans and found that, of the eight chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find that the three remaining suspected chemicals are naturally found in all other kinds of canned foods.

The writing is describing a problem which a food company, Promofoods, has faced to. The author of the passage provides some information and counts on them as a proof. Based on this information it is state that the products of the Promofoods company did not have any problem that may lead to health risk for consumers. Even if these claims have any ground, the author has not mentioned some important aspects of them, and it challenges all other provided information. Based on this point, it is hard to accept the claims made by the author. In the following, some of these lacks of information are discussed in detail.

First, as the author, the chemist who examined returned cans is a member of the company that means he is not an impartial person. In the case of testing suspected samples which may be the reason of health risk for some people, it is important to ask an impartial expert to do the test. In otherwise, the result of the tests cannot be reliable. It is also useful to ask at least two or three impartial chemists to do the test, and announce the average of their results as the final result.

Second, the writer of the passage has not mentioned the number of tested samples which are assumed as a representor of the whole returned cans. It is possible to assume that the chemist is not examined adequate number of samples, and based on this point, the result may not be valid. If the number of tested samples was mentioned clearly, the validity of the results and the possibility of expanding their results to the whole returned cans were more acceptable.

Third, as the text, the chemist has found three suspected chemicals that are naturally found in all other kinds of canned foods as well, but the level of components in cans from different companies are not compared together. The author and the chemist have not mentioned the level of these suspected chemicals, and it is possible to assume that the level of these components in Promofoods’ cans are significantly more than cans from other companies. If this assumption be true, there is a possibility that these level of chemicals may cause health risks and lead to dizziness and nausea. On the other hand, the low level of chemical components in the products of the the other companies has not resulted in any health problem.

To sum up, although the author has tried to provide some information which help to decide about the problem of the company, due to the lack of specific details regarding this information, it is hard to make an accurate decision. To solve this problem, the author should provide some information, such as the number of tested samples and compare the obtained result to the result derived from other companies which have not faced to the same problem. Another point which worth to consider is that the tester should be selected among experts who are impartial and can secure and honest test.